top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Tierney

The Second Week...Give or Take

During our second week here my laptop gave up on me, said its farewells, and died. Luckily I had my first post saved as a draft, hence how I uploaded my First Week post today, one month since we arrived. A lot has happened since then and I don't remember half of it, but I'm going to summarise as best I can.


In my last post I mentioned a little market we found. We went back the next Saturday to try làngos, a Hungarian street food. Geri is Hungarian and was ecstatic that there were other Hungarians in Cork as well, and he insisted we all go try the làngos. Ivar, Ole Melvin, and I wanted to spend the day out. None of us had any idea what they were, but we happily agreed. Turns out they're a kind of fried fluffy bread that you coat in garlic olive oil, sour cream, and shredded cheese. I'm not exaggerating when I say that it was one of the most delicious things I've ever tasted. We went back the following week as well.


On that same day out we stopped by a novelty shop and I ended up buying Cards Against Humanity. We walked home through the UCC campus and stopped to sit on the grass and play some CAH. We had a lot of fun, especially when a random dog showed up. We abandoned the game and played with him instead. The campus employees knew the dog, named Rolf, and apparently he walks himself to the park to play with people. We obliged.


Later that night we played CAH with the rest of the group. It ended up being a little 'party' and we got to know each other better. I'm really glad everybody in my group is easy to get along with and easy to get to know. I'm really hoping we stay friends for ages after we go back to Norway.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page